top of page



Supervisor Prof . Dr. Erasmo Simão da Silva


1) Dr.  Igor Rafael Sincos   (no fellowship), Vascular Surgeon with a PhD (2012) from the University of São Paulo Clinical Surgical Program and Fellowship from the University of Arizona. Research project "Venous ulcer: extended endovenous treatment of insufficient perforators and varicose saphenous veins by radiofrequency versus multiextract compressive treatment - randomized controlled clinical trial". Duration: 01/01/2015 to 01/30/2020;

2) Dr.ª Vivian Carla da Silva Gomes  (no fellowship), Vascular Surgeon with a PhD (2016) from the Clinical Surgical Program at the University of São Paulo. Research project "Aortic rupture test: comparison of failure pressures of infrarenal abdominal aortic aneurysm and normal abdominal aorta". Duration: 03/01/2018 to 02/28/2021;


3) Dr. Raphael de Souza Pinto (WITH GRANT), Biomedical with PhD (2011) from the Clinical Medicine Program of the University of São Paulo. FAPESP Project 201/00172-0 Research: "Advanced glycation products, endoplasmic reticulum stress and modulation of reverse cholesterol transport in human arteries with different degrees of atherosclerosis". Duration: 01/08/2018 to 31/08/2021;

4) Dr.ª Nayara Cioffi Batagini (no fellowship), PhD (2016) and by the USP Clinical Surgical Program, with Fellowship at Cleveland Clinic in 2015. Project: Clinical and angiotomographic analysis of patients with visceral aneurysms. Duration: 01/08/2019 to 31/07/2023.


Supervisor Hazem Adel Ashmawi:


1) Dr.ª Angela Maria Sousa (no grant), PhD (2010) by this PPG. Case: CAAE: 01217212.0.0000.0065. Project: Evaluation of the effect of palonasetrone and the association palonasetrone/aprepitant on the incidence of postoperative nausea and vomiting in high-risk cancer patients by the Apfel scale. Duration: 12/01/2015 to 11/30/2017;


2) Dr. André Marques Mansano (no grant), PhD (2013) from the Anesthesiology Program of the UNESP-Botucatu Medical School. Case: CAAE: 55375616.7.0000.0065. Project: Percutaneous radiofrequency ablation of splanchnic nerves for treatment of abdominal pain secondary to pancreatic cancer: clinical trial, prospective and randomized. Duration:01/08/2017 to 31/07/2019.


Supervisor Dr. José Otávio Costa Auler Junior:


1) Dr. André Prato Schmidt, (WITH CAPES 2009 Thesis Award and CNPq Post-Doc Grant) Project: Study on the mechanisms involved in the antinociceptive activity of purines: the role of guanine derivatives from 2011 to 2013.


2) Dr.ª Roseny dos Reis Rodrigues (no grant), PhD (2010) by the Program. Process Number: CEP/FMUSP: 9771, Opinion: 202.002. Project: Evaluation of the value of thromboelastography in guiding the treatment of coagulopathy in severe polytrauma patients undergoing massive transfusion - STATA- Strategy of Transfusion in Trauma Patients. Duration: 02/03/2016 to 04/30/2018;


3) Dr.ª Débora Rothstein Ramos Maia (no grant), PhD (2011) from the FMUSP Nephrology Program. CEUA 1131/2018. Project: Use of mesenchymal stem cells in a porcine model of sepsis - Renal evaluation. Duration 08/31/2018 to 07/31/2021. Co-Supervisor Denise Aya Otsuki.


Supervisor Dr. José Pinhata Otoch:


1)  Dr.ª Ana Flávia Marçal Pessoa (WITH CAPES/PNPD 2019 scholarship Process: 20131606-332010132P3). Pharmacist/Biochemist with Master's degree (2009) from UFMT and PhD from the Institute of Biological Sciences at USP. Project: "Use of nanocarriers in wound healing - translational study", CEUA/FMUSP no. 1185/2018". Duration: 01/03/2019 to 30/10/2022. _


Supervisor Dr.ª Ludhmila Abrahão Hajjar:


1) Dr. Alcino Costa Leme (WITH scholarship), physiotherapist with PhD (2017) by CAPES Program/ Thesis Award 2017 - Research: "Elaboration, construction and validation of a score to measure the level of attention and physiotherapy assistance during Hospital Admission." Duration: 01/03/2018 to 28/02/2021.


Supervisor Dr. Maria José Carvalho Carmona:


1) Dr.ª Mirna Bastos Marques, (WITH scholarship: CAPES/PNPD 2014 Process: 20131606-332010132P3) with the research: Anesthesia in patients over 100 years: report of case series, from 2014 to 2015.

2) Dr.ª Lívia Stocco Sanchez Valentin (WITH scholarship: CAPES/PNPD 2015 Process: 20131606-332010132P3). Project: Effects of transcranial direct current stimulation in the prevention of postoperative cognitive dysfunction in patients undergoing cardiac surgery: prospective, randomized, double-blind study". Duration: 01/06/2016 to 30/05/2017;


3) Dr.ª Valéria Fontenelle Angelim Pereira (no scholarship), Master's degree (2000) from the Radiology Program and PhD (2007) from the Clinical Emergencies Program, both from the University of São Paulo. Process: CAPPesq 13601 - Opinion No. 1.095.622. Project: Multicenter observational study to assess cardiac arrest and intraoperative mortality in Brazil. Duration: 12/09/2015 to 12/31/2017;


4) Dr. Marcello Fonseca Salgado Filho  (no scholarship), PhD (2016) from the Surgical Sciences Program at UFRJ. Process: CAPPesq CAAE 86012218.2.0000.0068 - Opinion No. 2.620.367. Project: Validation of the iEcho® application to guide the approach to intraoperative hemodynamic instability. Period of validity: 01/04/2019 to 31/03/2021;


Supervisor Dr. Nivaldo Alonso:


1) Dr.ª Sonja Ellen Lobo (WITH scholarship: CAPES/PNPD 2018 Process: 20131606-332010132P3) PhD (2013) by the Structural and Functional Biology Program - UNIFESP. Project: "Bone reconstructions in patients with tertiary alveolar fissures using biphasic calcium phosphate bioceramics: randomized controlled clinical trial". Duration: 12/01/2017 to 11/30/2019.


Supervisor Dr. Rolf Gemperli:


1) Dr.ª Cristina Pires Camargo (no fellowship), plastic surgeon with a PhD (2014) from the USP Surgical Clinic Program and Cochrane Member (Skin Group) since 2013. Research Project: "Effect of adipocyte stem cells on ischemic flap viability in diabetic rats". Duration: 03/04/2016 to 20/08/2019.

Started in 2008, the Post-Doctorate in Anesthesiology, Surgical Sciences and Perioperative Medicine program has been recruiting new researchers from advisors and graduates of FMUSP's Post-Graduate program, as well as from other national and international institutions. Prof. Dr. Hazem Adel Ashmawi was the precursor of this trend, having done his post-doctoral studies at the University of Iowa, sponsored by FAPESP, in 2009.

New professionals continue to be evaluated for entry into the Post-Doctoral Program with the constant goal of improving the impact of scientific publications, qualifying students, and enhancing the credentialing of new faculty in the Program.


The following are the researchers that have been incorporated into this program and their respective supervisors:


bottom of page